top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturechrissie3796

More Healing Vibes, Please!

The Dunn Girls can never be called boring, that's for sure. Between the three of us, there is always something going on, either with us or one of the kids. We definitely keep it interesting in this family. As you know, most of our time, energy, and focus as of late has been on Kim, her cancer, her journey, and her road to healing, but that doesn't mean the rest of us don't have to focus on ourselves as well. Shortly, after learning of Kim's cancer, my youngest sister, Heather went in for her yearly lady check up. Over the last several years, she has had a lot of her own medical maladies. This past year or so, she was able to be properly diagnosed and treated and things started to quell, and she really hadn't even thought too much about the appointment, as it was just routine.

During her appointment, after discussing her own issues and Kim's current battle, her doctor decided it would be appropriate to run some tests. Thankfully, her results did not show any signs of cancer. They did however show that she had a prolapsed and tilted uterus. In layman's terms, her uterus was tipped backwards. Typically, a uterus sits in an upright, vertical position, her's did not. The tilted uterus is actually a pretty common condition, that is usually undiagnosed or just monitored rather than treated. 20 out every 100 women are actually affected by this. The prolapsed part, not so common. Treatment usually starts with hormone based therapy but due to the type of cancer Kim is battling, together her doctor and her decided she should have a partial hysterectomy, taking her uterus but keeping her ovaries in order to keep her off of hormones. This past Wednesday, she did just that and today she is home resting comfortably.

As you can imagine, the last few months in my family have been tough, crazy, insane, and downright hard on some days. There has obviously been a lot going on, and sometimes it does take it's toll, both physically and mentally. Monday, I could barely drag myself out of bed to work, let alone workout, mom, and everything else, but I did. Sometimes, I wonder, why the universe decided to give my sisters these battles, it seems unfair. I think out loud and in silence, why not me? I'm the big sister, put it on me, I can handle it, but I digress. Those thoughts are neither helpful or healthy. Day in and day out, I have to remind myself that this to shall pass, because it will.

Earlier this week, Kim had to have a second infusion in order to complete round 4 of chemotherapy. This was obviously not the plan but because of her recent hospitalization and neutropenia diagnosis, and her insurance company denying what they actually wanted to give her, this was the best course of action. While, she understands it, and agrees with it, she was still in her head about it, and about everything else going on. I had to remind her that she is strong, and that not only can she get through this, she will get through this! We all will get through this and whatever else the universe decides to throw at us, and besides she is more than halfway through chemo, there's no quitting now! All this to say, I need to start taking my own advice and get out of my own head. We're all strong, we're all fighters, and together as a family, we'll pull through. I know I have been asking a lot lately for prayers, good energy, positive and healing vibes, but I am going to ask again, because we NEED them over here. I promise you, we will return the favor, tenfold, when needed.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

But Did You Die?

This week started out ordinary but progressed into so much more, and I am tired! It’s been 10 weeks since I started my new position at work. There was a bit of mix-up in the beginning, which led me to

It's the Confidence for Me

Lately, I have noticed a little more swagger about me. I have been feeling good about myself, and it shows. It's in my posts, it's in my smile, it's actually in everything I been doing in the last sev

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page