top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturechrissie3796

Community Counts

Last January, my best friend invited me to join a three week reset group, filled with moms. I was still fairly new to the fitness game, and had really just started working Ifit to the best of my ability, but obliged anyway. I participated fully the first week but quickly realized between what I was already doing and the group, I was not ready to commit. In week two, I quietly exited the group, went back to my treadmill, and thought nothing of it. As summer came to an end however, I hit a wall.


I had a pretty good routine, I thought, but as time wore on, I started recognizing that things had stopped changing. I was really enjoying running. Everyday, after work, I'd head down to the basement, lace up my shoes, and press play. There really wasn't a rhyme or reason as to why I would pick a particular workout, but I'd show up daily, and get my 30 minutes in, without fail. I started doing some research which showed strength training could potentially make me faster and stronger. I decided to reach back out to my friend and ask about this group she had introduced me to months before. She was having fantastic results through it, and really enjoying interacting with the community. It just so happened the next week, they were going to run another reset group, so I promptly joined.


We're taught at a very young age that if we create habits, we're more likely to stick to them. I had a habit, but no clear direction, nor no goal to achieve. My weight loss had plateau'd, my mindset was not in the game, and I considered giving up, then I met Melanie, and her Real Strong Moms. Melanie had created this beautiful virtual space for women, mostly moms to help them get STRONG with simple strength training programs, and support. The first thing Melanie and the girls taught me was to "find my why". Why was I here? Why did I continue to show up? What did I want to achieve? Those weren't things I had thought about before. My why at the time was to lose weight, isn't that why everyone works out? I was here because if I didn't show up, I wouldn't lose said weight. And, I didn't really have a goal or achievement in mind. Melanie encouraged me to not only show up for the workouts, but also interact in the group, try the nutrition plan, and be present. This has changed my whole perspective on fitness.


When I started this journey, like most of you, I just wanted to lose weight and feel better. I was way too many pounds over weight, suffering from chronic knee and back pain and hadn't even hit 40 yet. I just wanted to see the scale go down. While, that's a commendable goal, I learned very quickly, that you CANNOT let the scale define you. I've seen a lot of numbers, on a lot of scales in my years, and it used to make me feel sad, unhealthy, and unworthy, but no more! Goal weight today = STRONG! I'm not sure I would have gotten to this place though, not without Melanie and the Real Strong Moms. They have given me a community, that I didn't even know I was yearning for. They push me daily, encourage when I falter, and even pick me up when I am down. While, we all have met because we have a common goal to be Strong Moms, a lot of these ladies have become my friends over these last few months, (cyber friends are real friends). When my sister was diagnosed with cancer and I couldn't talk about it, I talked to them. On the days I don't feel like showing up, they bombard me with messages, and texts, and when I just need someone to tell me everything is going to be ok, these are the girls who do it! I had even considered leaving the group as the year came to a close. I had a lot on my plate and I didn't feel as though, I was utilizing the group to the best of my ability. It weighed on me, but everyday I'd log in and see the girls commenting on different things, playing games, encouraging one another, working out and taking virtual and in person walks together, and it occurred to me that while the focus of this group is fitness and nutrition, that wasn't what was most important aspect. It's the community! They are the ones making me laugh, they are ones pulling me out of my funk. They are the ones asking me daily what I am going to do to make tomorrow better, so ultimately, I stayed. I need that in my life. I feel really lucky and blessed to have found all these women with a collective purpose, on the same path as me.


Our why is going to change as time goes on and we achieve different objectives. The key is to remember to check in with yourself occasionally and make sure you know why you are choosing the things that you are. The goal is to always propel yourself forward and on the days when you don't think you can do it, lean in and lean on your community. Ask for help if you need it. Be inspired by them, be encouraged by them and lastly empower yourself and them by looking out for each other and crushing those goals!


***If you or someone you know is interested in learning more about the Real Strong Mom Club, Melanie Lund can be found either on Facebook or Instagram as @realstrongmom.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

More Healing Vibes, Please!

The Dunn Girls can never be called boring, that's for sure. Between the three of us, there is always something going on, either with us or one of the kids. We definitely keep it interesting in this fa

But Did You Die?

This week started out ordinary but progressed into so much more, and I am tired! It’s been 10 weeks since I started my new position at work. There was a bit of mix-up in the beginning, which led me to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page