top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturechrissie3796

Anyone can be a Runner

I didn't always have racing as a goal on my vision board. When I first decided to buy a treadmill, the idea was to walk, and maybe work my way up to a jog. The proposition of being an actual runner who runs races, never crossed my mind. The first Ifit series I did was a hiking series in Lake Tahoe, followed by several walking series. I vividly remember the first time I hit play and realized I was in a running workout, I almost stopped and picked a new one but instead I adjusted my pace and stuck with it, and at the end, a switch went off. The following week, I started a beginner running series, it was very slow at first and in intervals. I would run for thirty seconds or so and then walk for a minute and repeat that pattern for a week, maybe two. After awhile the running increased and the walking decreased. Then spring rolled around, the weather broke and I thought, why not take my talents to the concrete. Running outside was different than being on the treadmill, there was something freeing and fresh about it. The first few times I went outside to run, I was nervous. I thought people were looking at me, I thought I was doing it wrong, and I just felt awkward. I used an audio training series and decided to just stick with what the trainer was telling me. To my surprise, I not only enjoyed running outside, my pace was much quicker out there, that's when I knew racing had to become part of this journey I was on.


Running wasn't completely new to me, in high school, as a way to stay in shape for soccer season, I ran both cross-country and winter track. I was never competitive at either, and I never really enjoyed it. It was just something to do to pass the time. I realize now, I didn't really know what I was doing back then. No one taught me the proper techniques or how to breathe through my nose. I was running as fast as I could to get to the end but burning myself out doing it. It wasn't fun. Starting this new journey, I didn't let those thoughts of how much I didn't enjoy running in my teens, consume me. I knew I could run, if I wanted to, I just needed a little push and I found that in quite a few of the Ifit trainers. As I got stronger, and faster, I thought it would be nice to run a 5K but 2020 being the year that it was made that difficult, as there were no in person races being held. Enter, my now strength coach, Melanie Lund, in the midst of all the craziness and as a bonding event for her group, she decided to host a virtual 5K walk, opening it up to anyone and everyone who wanted to join. I signed up as soon as I could, with my best friend, and decided right away that even though it was virtual, I was going to do it outside and I was going to run it. The weather that day had different plans, and I wound up running a 56 minute 5K on the treadmill. Slow, but I did it! I didn't stop and I stuck with it! I felt so good after completing this event, I couldn't wait for the next one.


Since completing the Real Strong Mom (RSM) 5K last May, I have run four additional races. All virtual, two outside and one with people, I now have a Personal Record of 40:14. Still slow, but improving. This weekend, I get to run my sixth race, on the treadmill with Team Ifit, earning my second medal of the year thus far. I would run it outside but we're expecting freezing rain/sleet here in the MidAtlantic Region, tomorrow morning. I hope to get some in person races under my belt this year as well but I will definitely be running at least one more virtual race. In honor of World Cancer Day and my sister, I signed up for my first fundraising race, the Susan G Komen, More Than Pink 5K. I started out with a very small goal, and to my surprise and delight, a lot of folks have stepped up and donated helping surpass my expectations. If you haven't had a chance to check out that event, there is a link in my bio for both the fundraising aspect and for you to sign up and join me, if you so wish. I am very excited to donate monies raised to breast cancer research.


Running, and now racing has given me a new perspective on life. I feel freer, I feel healthier, and I am happier overall. I have so many goals this year including, my 2021 stretch goal to run a 10K for Thanksgiving. I don't quite have aspirations for New York or Boston but maybe that's next, I'm not sure. I have recently been making my way through a Trans Alpine series with a badass woman from Australia and I am finding that type of adventure to be very much my style. I can totally see myself running in the mountains, and being one with nature. Whatever path racing takes me down, I am excited. I am going to be 40 this year and I've never felt better, and ready to take on the next decade of life.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

More Healing Vibes, Please!

The Dunn Girls can never be called boring, that's for sure. Between the three of us, there is always something going on, either with us or one of the kids. We definitely keep it interesting in this fa

But Did You Die?

This week started out ordinary but progressed into so much more, and I am tired! It’s been 10 weeks since I started my new position at work. There was a bit of mix-up in the beginning, which led me to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page